Canon AV1…. My 1st roll………

Canon-AV1-HP5_008A few weeks ago I managed to pick up 2 cameras from my local charity shop for the princely sum of £20 each.

They were a Pentax K1000 and a Canon AV1. I have a couple of other Canons A1, AE1 Program and a T90 along with quite a few FD mount lenses so I decided to test the AV1 first.Canon AV1-HP5_024-EditI loaded up with some ilford HP5 and used my Canon 50mm f1.4 for all the shots going from f1.4 through to f11.

Canon AV1-HP5_020-EditI must say I really liked using this camera much more than the AE1 as I shoot mainly aperture priority or manual this camera was more in line with how I shoot, to be honest I don’t really like using the AE1 much.

Canon AV1-HP5_011-EditI popped along to a local derelict factory to see how things performed and the results were great, all the shots here are straight scans which brings me to another point.

I updated my iMac to the new OSX 10.9 Mavericks which seemed to go well except when I went to scan my negatives my Epson Scan software that I use with my v500 scanner said “Not Compatible” so I went to the epson site to update only to find that they have not yet updated their program for any of their scanners.

Luckily I have Windows 7 installed on my mac and scanned using that while I wait for Epson to pull their finger out and update the software (1 week later and still no update…Epson support are pretty poor indeed, a lot of people with scanners as doorstops I expect).

Anyway thanks for looking, comments most welcome  🙂

Canon AV1-HP5_018 Canon AV1-HP5_016 Canon AV1-HP5_015-Edit Canon AV1-HP5_014 Canon AV1-HP5_012 Canon AV1-HP5_010-Edit Canon AV1 test Contact sheetClick on an image to view larger…….

More film loveliness at my other blog….http://usingfilm.wordpress.com/

4 thoughts on “Canon AV1…. My 1st roll………”

  1. Good to see how that nice piece of analog gear still performs. My congrats for keeping it operational: leaving it into a closet would be a great shame. Thanks for sharing your shots. Alex

  2. Lovely images, the camera obviously still performs well. Have you tried Vuescan (www.hamrick.com)? An excellent piece of software, works with lots of scanners and a good price. Worth a look.

  3. The Canon AV1 was my first SLR back in 1982 then I traded it in for an A1. Good to see that they still take great pictures and being used. £20 a real bargain

Leave a Reply

